Sunday, August 23, 2015

Joey Logano Wins the Irwin Tools Night Race

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Joey Logano won the Irwin Tools Night Race from Bristol Motor Speedway on Saturday night.

Logano held off Kevin Harvick over the closing laps, and Logano said the victory was a credit to his team and their hard work.

Photo courtesy Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images
“We focused on what we needed in practice and got the reward in the race,” Logano said.  “It was just all about working the lapped traffic at the end…it was a very exciting last 20, 30 laps for sure.”

Logano was able to pick up his second-straight victory in the Irwin Tools Night Race, and he said his team made his car handle well at the right time.

“You’ve got to have a car that can move around, especially when you’re lapping cars,” Logano said.  “The last few races here, [crew chief Todd Gordon]’s definitely given me the car I needed to make the moves.”

Harvick followed Logano over the final 30 laps, but could never get beside him to make a pass.  Harvick said it was Logano’s ability to get around lapped traffic that got him to victory lane.

“I couldn’t get my car to rotate across the center like I needed it to,” Harvick said.  “[Logano] was able to get those huge runs up off the exit of the corner and just stayed one step ahead of me through traffic.”

“In clean air we probably were a little faster, but…I had to be in front of him to show that.  He was just one step ahead of me in traffic.”

Unofficial results:

1. Joey Logano
2. Kevin Harvick
3. Denny Hamlin
4. Jimmie Johnson
5. Clint Bowyer
6. Brad Keselowski
7. Carl Edwards
8. Kyle Busch
9. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
10. Ryan Newman
11. Jamie McMurray
12. Justin Allgaier
13. Austin Dillon
14. Kurt Busch
15. Trevor Bayne
16. Kasey Kahne
17. Aric Almirola
18. Sam Hornish Jr.
19. Tony Stewart
20. Jeff Gordon
21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
22. Ryan Blaney
23. Casey Mears
24. Paul Menard
25. Greg Biffle
26. AJ Allmendinger
27. Danica Patrick
28. Martin Truex Jr.
29. Cole Whitt
30. Brett Moffitt
31. Michael McDowell
32. Alex Bowman
33. Matt DiBenedetto
34. J.J. Yeley
35. Josh Wise
36. David Gilliland
37. Mike Bliss
38. Landon Cassill
39. Timmy Hill
40. David Ragan
41. Kyle Larson
42. Matt Kenseth
43. Michael Annett

Photo courtesy Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images

No comments:

Post a Comment