Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Weekly Pull List: 9/30/2015

All the comics available this week can be found on ComicList, and any comics news is on Comic Book Resources.

Batman Annual #4
Grayson Annual #2

Godzilla in Hell #3

Sex #24

Cavalry S.H.I.E.L.D. 50th Anniversary #1
E is for Extinction #4
Ghost Racers #4
Hail Hydra #3
Inferno #5
M.O.D.O.K. Assassin #5

Doctor Who: The Eleventh Doctor Year Two #1
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor #12

Monday, September 28, 2015

Kenseth Wins at New Hampshire

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Matt Kenseth won the Sylvania 300 from New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Photo courtesy Todd Warshaw/Getty Images
Kenseth had one of the fastest cars throughout the race, but it was Kevin Harvick who dominated all afternoon.  Harvick led a race-high 216 laps before running out of fuel with three laps to go.  Kenseth said he didn’t think he could beat Harvick’s fast car before it ran out of fuel.

“I was giving Kevin everything I had,” Kenseth said.  “I just thought he was going to beat us.  He had the best car today.  I guess he was just a little short on fuel.”

Kenseth is now locked into the second round of the Chase following his victory.  He said going into Dover already locked into the Contender Round won’t change the way his team approaches next week’s race.

“It doesn’t change, I thought a little about it today,” Kenseth said.  “These things are just too hard to win.  We’ll go [to Dover] and bring our good stuff and try to win.”

“It’s been awesome, I think we’ve got some more coming.”

Unofficial results:

1. Matt Kenseth
2. Denny Hamlin
3. Joey Logano
4. Greg Biffle
5. Carl Edwards
6. Jimmie Johnson
7. Jeff Gordon
8. Martin Truex Jr.
9. Kasey Kahne
10. Ryan Newman
11. Tony Stewart
12. Brad Keselowski
13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
14. Jamie McMurray
15. Paul Menard
16. Trevor Bayne
17. Kyle Larson
18. Casey Mears
19. Kurt Busch
20. Sam Hornish Jr.
21. Kevin Harvick
22. Austin Dillon
23. AJ Allmendinger
24. Cole Whitt
25. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
26. Clint Bowyer
27. Brett Moffitt
28. David Gilliland
29. Michael Annett
30. Matt DiBenedetto
31. Josh Wise
32. Ryan Preece
33. Jeb Burton
34. BJ McLeod
35. Jeffrey Earnhardt
36. Timmy Hill
37. Kyle Busch
38. Landon Cassill
39. Justin Allgaier
40. Danica Patrick
41. David Ragan
42. Alex Bowman
43. Aric Almirola

Photo courtesy Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Weekly Pull List: 9/23/2015

All the comics available this week can be found on ComicList, and any comic book news is on Comic Book Resources.

Dark Horse
Fight Club 2 #5

Flash #44
Gotham by Midnight #9
Grayson #12

Deadpool vs. Thanos #2
Fury S.H.I.E.L.D. 50th Anniversary #1
George Romero's Empire of the Dead: Act Three #5
Inhumans Attilan Rising #5
X-Tinction Agenda #4
Years of Future Past #5

Doctor Who: The Four Doctors #5

Sunday, September 20, 2015

Hamlin Wins Chase Opener

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Denny Hamlin won the myAFibRisk.com 400 from Chicagoland Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Hamlin stayed out when most of the leaders pitted following a caution with 10 laps to go, and he took the lead when the race restarted with six laps to go.  Hamlin said he thought he had a 50/50 chance of holding off the cars behind him on fresh tires.
Photo courtesy Matt Sullivan/Getty Images
“I was going to drive in there and hope that everything worked out,” Hamlin said.  “We stretched it out at the end, even with no tires.”

Hamlin had an eventful race before ending up in victory lane.  Hamlin found himself a lap down early after spinning on lap 2.  Hamlin said his team stayed calm following the incident and his car was fast enough to overcome the early mistake.

“I knew there couldn’t have been that many cars on the lead lap and luckily that one caution came out that allowed us to get the wavearound,” Hamlin said.  “We had a fast car and that’s the important thing.”

With Hamlin’s victory, he is now locked into the next round of the Chase for the Sprint Cup.  Hamlin is now the only driver who can rest easily over the remaining two races of the Challenger Round.

“Great way to start the Chase.  Takes the pressure off us.  We’re ready to go have some fun.”

Unofficial results:
1. Denny Hamlin
2. Carl Edwards
3. Kurt Busch
4. Ryan Newman
5. Matt Kenseth
6. Joey Logano
7. Kyle Larson
8. Brad Keselowski
9. Kyle Busch
10. Aric Almirola
11. Jimmie Johnson
12. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
13. Martin Truex Jr.
14. Jeff Gordon
15. David Ragan
16. Jamie McMurray
17. Paul Menard
18. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
19. Clint Bowyer
20. Casey Mears
21. Greg Biffle
22. Brian Scott
23. Justin Allgaier
24. Kasey Kahne
25. Tony Stewart
26. Danica Patrick
27. Landon Cassill
28. Trevor Bayne
29. Cole Whitt
30. Sam Hornish Jr.
31. Brett Moffitt
32. David Gilliland
33. Josh Wise
34. Michael Annett
35. J.J. Yeley
36. AJ Allmendinger
37. Alex Bowman
38. Jeb Burton
39. Matt DiBenedetto
40. Reed Sorenson
41. Timmy Hill
42. Kevin Harvick
43. Austin Dillon

Photo courtesy Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Weekly Pull List: 9/16/2015

All the comics available this week can be found on ComicList, and any comic book news is on Comic Book Resources.

Harley Quinn #20

D4VE2 #1
Godzilla in Hell #2

Invincible #123
Sex Criminals #12

Agent Carter S.H.I.E.L.D. 50th Anniversary #1
All-New Hawkeye #5
Armor Wars #5
Guardians of Knowhere #4
House of M #3
Infinity Gauntlet #4
Lando #4
Secret Wars Journal #5
Spider-Island #4
Spider-Verse #5
Star Wars #9

Sunday, September 13, 2015

Kenseth Wins at Richmond

Matt Kenseth won the Federated Auto Parts 400 from Richmond International Raceway on Saturday night.

Photo courtesy Rainier Ehrhardt/Getty Images
Kenseth led a race-high 352 of 400 laps on Saturday.  Kenseth said the win gives his team a lot of confidence going into the Chase for the Sprint Cup.

“I was glad I didn’t make any mistakes tonight and was able to get the win,” Kenseth said.  “It’s good for all of our confidence…especially mine.”

Kenseth had to hold off Joey Logano and Aric Almirola following a late caution with 20 laps to go.  Kenseth had a good restart that helped propel him to the victory.

“I knew for sure I wasn’t going to go late,” Kenseth said.  “I knew I had to have…a good restart and some good distance to hold on because the short run was not our strong suit.  I knew it was going to be important to make sure we were clear when we got to turn one.”

Unofficial results:

1. Matt Kenseth
2. Kyle Busch
3. Joey Logano
4. Aric Almirola
5. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
6. Denny Hamlin
7. Jeff Gordon
8. Brad Keselowski
9. Jimmie Johnson
10. Clint Bowyer
11. Carl Edwards
12. Kyle Larson
13. Jamie McMurray
14. Kevin Harvick
15. Kurt Busch
16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
17. David Ragan
18. Kasey Kahne
19. Danica Patrick
20. Ryan Newman
21. Casey Mears
22. Brian Scott
23. Trevor Bayne
24. AJ Allmendinger
25. Justin Allgaier
26. Paul Menard
27. Austin Dillon
28. Sam Hornish Jr.
29. Tony Stewart
30. Landon Cassill
31. Greg Biffle
32. Martin Truex Jr.
33. David Gilliland
34. J.J. Yeley
35. Brett Moffitt
36. Matt DiBenedetto
37. Alex Bowman
38. Cole Whitt
39. Jeb Burton
40. Jeffrey Earnhardt
41. Reed Sorenson
42. Michael McDowell
43. Michael Annett

Photo courtesy Jonathan Moore/Getty Images