Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Weekly Pull List: 2/21/2018

All the comics available this week can be found on ComicList, and any comic book news is on CBR.

BOOM! Studios
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #24

Amazing Spider-Man #796
Astonishing X-Men #8
Deadpool Vs. Old Man Logan #5
Star Wars Doctor Aphra #17
Venom #162
X-Men Gold #22

Sunday, February 18, 2018

Austin Dillon Wins Wild Daytona 500

Originally written for CLNS Media.

Austin Dillon won the Daytona 500 on Sunday afternoon from the Daytona International Speedway.

Dillon picked up his second career Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series victory in NASCAR’s most prestigious race.  Dillon took the lead on the final lap after making contact with Aric Almirola while making a pass for the lead.
Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Dillon said he didn’t mean to wreck Almirola for the lead.

“I hate it for the 10 [of Almirola],” Dillon said.  “We just had a run and I stayed in the gas…I did what I had to do at the end.”

Dillon restarted fourth heading into overtime, and he used a push from Darrell Wallace Jr. to take the lead.  Wallace finished second, and he became the highest-finishing African American driver in the Daytona 500 in just his first start with a new team.

Dillon’s win returns the iconic No. 3 to victory lane 20 years after Dale Earnhardt won the Daytona 500.  Dillon was in victory lane with Earnhardt back in 1998, and he said he was excited to take his grandpa back to victory.

“It is so awesome to take the 3 car back to victory lane,” Dillon said.  “20 years ago…this one’s for Dale Earnhardt Sr. and all those Sr. fans.”

“I said that my first win…I couldn’t beat it, and this does.”

Wallace was emotional following his second-place finish, but he said he was excited to start the season off strong with a new team.

“I’ve got so many emotions right now,” Wallace said.  “Thank you to the King [Richard Petty] for giving me this opportunity.”

“We know how much stress this team has been through in the last three or four months just trying to get this thing together, so for me to come out here…P2 in my first Daytona 500.”

Unofficial results:
1. Austin Dillon
2. Darrell Wallace Jr.
3. Denny Hamlin
4. Joey Logano
5. Chris Buescher
6. Paul Menard
7. Ryan Blaney
8. Ryan Newman
9. Michael McDowell
10. AJ Allmendinger
11. Aric Almirola
12. Justin Marks
13. Trevor Bayne
14. David Gilliland
15. Clint Bowyer
16. Jamie McMurray
17. Alex Bowman
18. Martin Truex Jr.
19. Kyle Larson
20. Gray Gaulding
21. Jeffrey Earnhardt
22. Mark Thompson
23. William Byron
24. DJ Kennington
25. Kyle Busch
26. Kurt Busch
27. Matt DiBenedetto
28. Brendan Gaughan
29. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
30. David Ragan
31. Kevin Harvick
32. Brad Keselowski
33. Chase Elliott
34. Kasey Kahne
35. Danica Patrick
36. Erik Jones
37. Daniel Suarez
38. Jimmie Johnson
39. Ty Dillon
40. Corey LaJoie

Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Weekly Pull List: 2/14/2018

All the comics available this week can be found on ComicList, and any comic book news is on CBR.

Amazing Spider-Man Annual #42
Ben Reilly The Scarlet Spider #14
Despicable Deadpool #294
Star Wars Darth Vader #11
Star Wars Poe Dameron #24

Sunday, February 11, 2018

Keselowski Wins Advanced Auto Parts Clash from Daytona

Originally written for CLNS Media.

Brad Keselowski won the Advanced Auto Parts Clash on Sunday afternoon from Daytona International Speedway.

The Clash, a non-points event, serves as the kickoff to the NASCAR season.  The 75-lap event is open to 2017 pole winners, 2017 playoff drivers and any previous Daytona 500 pole winners.

Keselowski was confident he would be able to win on Sunday, even tweeting before the race that he would end up in victory lane despite starting last.  Keselowski said he was glad to finally win something during Daytona’s Speedweeks.

Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images
“I’m happy for everyone on my team, this is the first time I’ve won anything at Speedweeks,” Keselowski said.  “It’s nice to see we didn’t choke on this one.”

With a new rules package at Daytona, many teams were worried about how their cars would handle.  Keselowski said he was proud of his team for rising to the challenge.

“I’m thankful for the team,” Keselowski said.  “Completely different package than what we’ve had here at Daytona…so the guys had to show up with a way different car.  That’s a testament to everyone at Team Penske.”

Keselowski’s teammate Joey Logano finished second after following Keselowski for the last third of the race single-file.  Logano said the cars were so hard to handle that it was difficult to make a move.

“I think handling definitely came into play there, a lot of cars slipping and sliding,” Logano said.  “The moves are hard to make because the cars are out of control out there.”

Logano said he was glad to see the Team Penske cars run up front as they get ready for next Sunday’s Daytona 500.

“We learned a lot for the [Daytona] 500 and the Duels coming up, and that was a big deal about today,” Logano said.  “This was probably the most important Clash I’ve ever been a part of.”

Unofficial results:
1. Brad Keselowski
2. Joey Logano
3. Kurt Busch
4. Ryan Blaney
5. Austin Dillon
6. Denny Hamlin
7. Kyle Busch
8. Erik Jones
9. Kevin Harvick
10. Kyle Larson
11. Ryan Newman
12. Jimmie Johnson
13. Chase Elliott
14. Martin Truex Jr.
15. Kasey Kahne
16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
17. Jamie McMurray

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Weekly Pull List: 2/7/2018

All the comics available this week can be found on ComicList, and any comic book news is on CBR.

Back to the Future Tales from the Time Train #2

Amazing Spider-Man #795
Daredevil #598
Spider-Man #237
Spider-Man Deadpool #27
Star Wars #43
Venom #161

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Weekly Pull List: 1/31/2018

All the comics available this week can be found on ComicList, and any comic book news is on CBR.

Amazing Spider-Man Renew Your Vows #15
Ben Reilly the Scarlet Spider #13
Despicable Deadpool #293
Spider-Gwen #28
Star Wars Doctor Aphra #16
Star Wars the Last Jedi DJ #1

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Weekly Pull List: 1/24/2018

All the comics available this week can be found on ComicList, and any comic book news is on CBR.

BOOM! Studios
Go Go Power Rangers #6

Amazing Spider-Man #794
Star Wars Poe Dameron #23
Thanos #15