Sunday, August 9, 2015

Joey Logano Wins at Watkins Glen

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Joey Logano won the Cheez-It 355 from Watkins-Glen International following a last-lap pass on Sunday afternoon. 

Logano passed Kevin Harvick in the final corners after he ran out of gas coming to take the checkered flag.  Logano said he was unsure whether he could get by Harvick on the final lap.

Photo courtesy Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images
“I felt pretty sure the 4 [of Harvick] was going to run out, but it got to the last lap and I’m like ‘shoot he’s not running out,’” Logano said.  “Right at the end I was able to get by him.”

Logano picked up the sweep of the weekend following his Xfinity Series victory on Saturday, and it comes a week after he ran out of gas while leading at Pocono.

“First time I swept the weekend, we never thought it’d happen at a road course,” Logano said.  “Makes up for last week; we lost the race this way and now we won one this way.”

Harvick was two corners away from the victory when he ran out of gas, but he was still able to finish third.  Harvick said his team has had fast cars and that they’re looking forward to the Chase.

“I thought I’d done a pretty good job of saving fuel under the caution and really I was just running as fast as I needed to protect the lead,” Harvick said.  “That’s just kind of how this middle of the season has gone.  We’ve had really fast cars but the circumstances have just gotten the best of us.”

After running out a lap from the finish at Pocono, Kyle Busch was able to finish second at Watkins Glen.  Busch is now 30th in points, which grants him a berth in the Chase for the Sprint Cup following his four victories since his return in May.

“We definitely didn’t want to run out again; we wanted to make sure we could make it to the end,” Busch said.  “We knew we would be [top 30 in points], it was just a matter of time.  That was probably another reason we didn’t need to run out of gas and have an issue here today.”

Unofficial results:

1. Joey Logano
2. Kyle Busch
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Matt Kenseth
5. Kurt Busch
6. Clint Bowyer
7. Brad Keselowski
8. Carl Edwards
9. Sam Hornish Jr.
10. Jimmie Johnson
11. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
12. Kyle Larson
13. Paul Menard
14. Greg Biffle
15. Ryan Newman
16. Aric Almirola
17. Danica Patrick
18. Casey Mears
19. Justin Allgaier
20. Michael McDowell
21. Cole Whitt
22. Trevor Bayne
23. David Ragan
24. AJ Allmendinger
25. Martin Truex Jr.
26. Matt DiBenedetto
27. Denny Hamlin
28. Alex Kennedy
29. Alex Bowman
30. J.J. Yeley
31. Michael Annett
32. Boris Said
33. David Gilliland
34. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
35. Landon Cassill
36. Austin Dillon
37. Chris Buescher
38. Timmy Hill
39. Jeb Burton
40. Jamie McMurray
41. Jeff Gordon
42. Kasey Kahne
43. Tony Stewart

Photo courtesy Daniel Shirey/Getty Images

No comments:

Post a Comment