Sunday, September 21, 2014

Joey Logano Wins in New Hampshire

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Joey Logano won his fourth race of the season on Sunday at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Photo courtesy Jerry Markland/Getty Images
Logano won the Sylvania 300 after using pit strategy to get to the front and hold off the rest of the field.

“Four tires were good and we were able to get some good restarts and get ourselves back up there,” Logano said.

Logano had to be strong over a series of late restarts in a race that featured a season-high 15 cautions.  

“We’re doing what we have to do to win this thing…the guys did a good job of setting this thing up.  They gave me something to win with today.”

Logano’s teammate Brad Keselowski won the pole for the race, and he led the first 35 laps of the race.  Following a competition caution, Denny Hamlin used pit strategy to get to the front and take the lead.

Kevin Harvick ran Hamlin down on lap 71 to take the lead.  He led until Logano took the lead during a caution on lap 170.

Logano led through numerous caution periods that included many Chase contenders, including Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Kasey Kahne and Ryan Newman.

After debris brought out the caution on lap 211, Brian Vickers took the lead and he led until Keselowski chased him down for the lead on lap 227.

Following a caution on lap 263, Keselowski led the field to the green flag on the restart.  Logano got into Keselowski, causing both drivers to get loose.  That allowed Harvick to take the lead, but he only held on until the next restart on lap 273.

Logano took the lead from Harvick, and held off Harvick and Kyle Larson over the final two restarts to take the victory.

Unofficial results:

1. Joey Logano
2. Kyle Larson
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Jamie McMurray
5. Jimmie Johnson
6. Aric Almirola
7. Brad Keselowski
8. Kyle Busch
9. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
10. Brian Vickers
11. Austin Dillon
12. Martin Truex Jr.
13. AJ Allmendinger
14. Clint Bowyer
15. Paul Menard
16. Greg Biffle
17. Carl Edwards
18. Ryan Newman
19. Danica Patrick
20. Justin Allgaier
21. Matt Kenseth
22. Casey Mears
23. Kasey Kahne
24. Marcos Ambrose
25. Landon Cassill
26. Jeff Gordon
27. David Gilliland
28. Alex Bowman
29. Michael Annett
30. Tony Stewart
31. Reed Sorenson
32. Travis Kvapil
33. Josh Wise
34. Mike Wallace
35. Timmy Hill
36. Kurt Busch
37. Denny Hamlin
38. Cole Whitt
39. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
40. David Stremme
41. Corey Lajoie
42. David Ragan
43. Clay Rogers

Next weekend, the Sprint Cup Series heads to Dover International Speedway for the final race in the Challenger Round of the Chase.  The AAA 400 can be seen next Sunday at 2:00 p.m. EST on ESPN.

Photo courtesy Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

No comments:

Post a Comment