Sunday, September 25, 2016

Harvick Wins at New Hampshire

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Kevin Harvick won the Bad Boy Off Road 300 from New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Sunday after taking the lead on a late restart.

Harvick started deep in the field on Sunday, but he worked his way up to the front and took the lead at the end of the race.  He held off Matt Kenseth over the closing laps to pick up the victory.
Jonathan Ferrey (Getty Images)
“My team was pretty good on the restarts,” Harvick said.  “Once we got clean air there at the end, we wound up being pretty good out front.”

Harvick needed a good run to get into the next round of the Chase after a 20th-place finish last weekend at Chicagoland.  Harvick said his team came looking for a good run and got the victory instead.

“One of our main goals this year was to not stress ourselves out so bad, and I feel like the performance of the car and the things we’re doing are good enough to be competitive.  We just need to not make mistakes and go from here.”

Kenseth finished second after leading most of the final 100 laps.  Kenseth said his late-race battle with Martin Truex Jr. affected his chances of holding off Harvick.

“We were pretty good…we just didn’t get that last adjustment in,” Kenseth said.  “The 78 [of Truex] was a lot better than we were and we just burned the right rear off trying to hold him off.”

“Just went really late in the restart zone, and [Harvick] anticipated it just right and laid back, plus I spun the tires.  Got beat through 1 and 2 and then it was over.”

Unofficial results:
1. Kevin Harvick
2. Matt Kenseth
3. Kyle Busch
4. Brad Keselowski
5. Kurt Busch
6. Carl Edwards
7. Martin Truex Jr.
8. Jimmie Johnson
9. Kasey Kahne
10. Kyle Larson
11. Joey Logano
12. Ryan Blaney
13. Chase Elliott
14. Alex Bowman
15. Denny Hamlin
16. Austin Dillon
17. Aric Almirola
18. Danica Patrick
19. Jamie McMurray
20. Ryan Newman
21. AJ Allmendinger
22. Clint Bowyer
23. Tony Stewart
24. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
25. Paul Menard
26. Michael McDowell
27. Casey Mears
28. Matt DiBenedetto
29. Landon Cassill
30. Chris Buescher
31. Brian Scott
32. David Ragan
33. Greg Biffle
34. Regan Smith
35. Cole Whitt
36. Reed Sorenson
37. Jeffrey Earnhardt
38. Trevor Bayne
39. Josh Wise
40. Michael Annett

Rainier Ehrhardt (Getty Images)

No comments:

Post a Comment