Sunday, September 11, 2016

Hamlin Wins, Chase Field is Set at Richmond

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Denny Hamlin won the Federated Auto Parts 400 from Richmond International Speedway on Saturday night.

Hamlin won from the pole and led 189 laps.  Hamlin said his team gave him a fast car for the weekend.  

Getty Images
“Our cars are really running well,” Hamlin said.  “Finally everything just kind of worked well for us all day.  Really got it dialed in there for the last half of the race.”  

The race was the final race before NASCAR’s Chase for the Sprint Cup.  The playoff field was set following the checkered flag, with Chase Elliott, Austin Dillon and Jamie McMurray making it in on points, along with the other 13 winners from this season.

Hamlin said this win will give his team the momentum they need heading into the final 10 weeks of the season.

“We’ve got everything going well for us.  Proud of this whole team; everything’s been great.  Hopefully we’ll go on another Chase run.”

The Chase kicks off next weekend at Chicagoland.  For Chris Buescher, Kyle Larson, Elliott and Dillon, it will be their first trip to NASCAR’s playoff.

Elliott said his team is looking forward to fighting for a championship all the way to the finale at Homestead.

“We’re excited about these next 10,” Elliott said.  “I think we have to go in with the mentality that we give ourselves a chance at Homestead; if not, we should have let the next one in.”

Unofficial results:
1. Denny Hamlin
2. Kyle Larson
3. Martin Truex Jr.
4. Brad Keselowski
5. Kevin Harvick
6. Kasey Kahne
7. Jamie McMurray
8. Kurt Busch
9. Kyle Busch
10. Joey Logano
11. Jimmie Johnson
12. Michael McDowell
13. Austin Dillon
14. Trevor Bayne
15. Danica Patrick
16. Jeff Gordon
17. Aric Almirola
18. Chase Elliott
19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
20. AJ Allmendinger
21. Casey Mears
22. Clint Bowyer
23. Greg Biffle
24. Chris Buescher
25. Dylan Lupton
26. Reed Sorenson
27. Jeffrey Earnhardt
28. Ryan Newman
29. Regan Smith
30. Josh Wise
31. Michael Annett
32. Carl Edwards
33. Tony Stewart
34. David Ragan
35. Brian Scott
36. Landon Cassill
37. Matt DiBenedetto
38. Matt Kenseth
39. Ryan Blaney
40. Paul Menard

Getty Images

No comments:

Post a Comment