Monday, May 30, 2016

Martin Truex Jr. Dominates the Coca-Cola 600

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Martin Truex Jr. won the Coca-Cola 600 on Sunday, dominating NASCAR’s longest race at the Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Truex led 588 of 600 miles, which is a record for the most miles led by a driver in any race.
Photo courtesy Rainier Ehrhardt/Getty Images

Truex was overcome with emotion in victory lane after winning his first race since June of last year.

“Just kind of sinking in now that we won the 600,” Truex said.  “It’s a big day, we’ve got the troops on the cars; a special weekend.  A whole lot of emotion.  It’s a weekend you dream about.”

Truex has had his share of misses this season, coming close to victory lane on numerous occasions.  He said he was inspired to keep going because of his longtime girlfriend Sherry Pollex, who has battled cancer over the past few years.

“Sherry, she gives me a lot of inspiration,” Truex said.  “We always keep fighting, we never give up.  We never quit, and we always keep digging.”

Jimmie Johnson raced with Truex for most of the night, and the six-time champion was impressed by how good Truex’s car was.  

“I kind of felt like he was playing with us,” Johnson said.  “He was so fast.  I would flat-foot turns 1 and 2, and have a nose on him.  He would drive right back by me going into turn 3.”

“I’m happy for Martin.  That team…worked awfully hard to get where they’re at.  It was very impressive.”

Unofficial results:
1. Martin Truex Jr.
2. Kevin Harvick
3. Jimmie Johnson
4. Denny Hamlin
5. Brad Keselowski
6. Kurt Busch
7. Matt Kenseth
8. Chase Elliott
9. Joey Logano
10. Ryan Newman
11. Greg Biffle
12. Austin Dillon
13. Kyle Larson
14. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
15. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
16. AJ Allmendinger
17. Paul Menard
18. Carl Edwards
19. Jamie McMurray
20. Ryan Blaney
21. Danica Patrick
22. Kasey Kahne
23. Clint Bowyer
24. Tony Stewart
25. Trevor Bayne
26. Aric Almirola
27. Landon Cassill
28. Regan Smith
29. Brian Scott
30. Casey Mears
31. David Ragan
32. Matt DiBenedetto
33. Kyle Busch
34. Michael McDowell
35. Cole Whitt
36. Michael Annett
37. Chris Buescher
38. Josh Wise
39. Jeffrey Earnhardt
40. Reed Sorenson

Photo courtesy Todd Warshaw/Getty Images

No comments:

Post a Comment