Sunday, October 18, 2015

Joey Logano Wins at Kansas

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Joey Logano won the Hollywood Casino 400 from Kansas Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Logano chased down Matt Kenseth in the final laps, and Kenseth spun after the two drivers made contact.  Logano said the contact was a product of hard racing between two of NASCAR’s best.

Photo courtesy Todd Warshaw/Getty Images
“He raced me hard so I raced him hard back,” Logano said.  “If I get raced like that, I’ll race the same way.  That’s how I’ve always been.”

Logano picked up his second victory in as many weeks, which stopped any other Chase drivers from locking themselves into the next round heading into Talladega.  Logano said that was his team’s strategy heading into Kansas.

“Even though we’re moved on to the next round…our goal is to still win the race,” Logano said.  “That’s kind of the strategy of this Chase; win and try to get some guys nervous for next week.”

With a victory, Kenseth would have locked himself into the third round of the Chase.  Now he must head to Talladega Superspeedway next weekend in what promises to be the wildest race of the Chase.

“I pulled up in front of him [Logano] and he just lifted my tires off the ground and wrecked me,” Kenseth said.  “To me, strategically, it doesn’t seem like a good decision for him but it’s the one he made.”

Logano said Kenseth put him into a position where he had to wreck the 20 to get to victory lane.

“I got raced hard, got [run into the fence] twice, so I wasn’t going to put up with it,” Logano said.  “I’m sure we’ll talk about it.”

Unofficial results:
1. Joey Logano
2. Denny Hamlin
3. Jimmie Johnson
4. Kasey Kahne
5. Kyle Busch
6. Kurt Busch
7. Ryan Blaney
8. Carl Edwards
9. Brad Keselowski
10. Jeff Gordon
11. Ryan Newman
12. Brian Scott
13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
14. Matt Kenseth
15. Martin Truex Jr.
16. Kevin Harvick
17. Greg Biffle
18. Trevor Bayne
19. Paul Menard
20. Jamie McMurray
21. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
22. Danica Patrick
23. Casey Mears
24. Aric Almirola
25. David Ragan
26. Justin Allgaier
27. AJ Allmendinger
28. Sam Hornish Jr.
29. Kyle Larson
30. Matt DiBenedetto
31. Alex Bowman
32. Brett Moffitt
33. Cole Whitt
34. Michael Annett
35. Tony Stewart
36. David Gilliland
37. Jeb Burton
38. Reed Sorenson
39. Will Kimmel III
40. Clint Bowyer
41. Austin Dillon
42. J.J. Yeley
43. Landon Cassill

Photo courtesy Daniel Shirey/Getty Images

No comments:

Post a Comment