Sunday, October 4, 2015

Harvick Dominates in Dover, Clinches Chase Spot

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Kevin Harvick won the AAA 400 from Dover International Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Harvick dominated the race, leading a race-high 355 of 400 laps on Sunday.  Harvick said this weekend was simply one of the weekends where they unloaded with a good car.
Photo courtesy Sean Gardner/Getty Images

“Anytime you can go through moments like this and gain some momentum and prove to yourself that you can do things like this, there’s no way you can’t be stronger,” Harvick said.

Harvick came into Sunday needing a victory to move on to the next round of the Chase.  After his dominant performance, Harvick said his team is more prepared for this year’s championship run.

“I’m so proud of these guys…that never-quit attitude,” Harvick said.  “I think we’re better than we were last year just because of the experiences and things we’ve had.”

“Obviously we weren’t in a great position coming into today, but that’s what these guys are made of.”

The race had some excitement in the closing laps, as the rest of the Chase field was set for the Contender Round.  Dale Earnhardt Jr. clinched the final spot in the Chase after tying Jamie McMurray for 12th in points and getting in via the tie-breaker.  The four drivers eliminated from the Chase after the first round were McMurray, Jimmie Johnson, Paul Menard and Clint Bowyer.

Unofficial results:
1. Kevin Harvick
2. Kyle Busch
3. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
4. Jamie McMurray
5. Aric Almirola
6. Kasey Kahne
7. Matt Kenseth
8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
9. Kyle Larson
10. Joey Logano
11. Martin Truex Jr.
12. Jeff Gordon
13. Greg Biffle
14. Clint Bowyer
15. Carl Edwards
16. Brad Keselowski
17. Kurt Busch
18. Denny Hamlin
19. Ryan Newman
20. Sam Hornish Jr.
21. Danica Patrick
22. David Ragan
23. Austin Dillon
24. Casey Mears
25. Paul Menard
26. Tony Stewart
27. Justin Allgaier
28. Cole Whitt
29. AJ Allmendinger
30. David Gilliland
31. Trevor Bayne
32. Alex Bowman
33. Reed Sorenson
34. Matt DiBenedetto
35. J.J. Yeley
36. Josh Wise
37. Michael Annett
38. Alex Kennedy
39. Timmy Hill
40. Landon Cassill
41. Jimmie Johnson
42. Brett Moffitt
43. Jeb Burton

Photo courtesy Rainier Ehrhardt/Getty Images

No comments:

Post a Comment