Sunday, November 2, 2014

Johnson Wins at Texas, Chasers Brawl

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Jimmie Johnson won at Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday to pick up his fourth victory of the season.
Photo courtesy Todd Warshaw/Getty Images

Johnson had a dominant car throughout the day, leading 191 of 341 laps.  Johnson said his team has continued to work hard even after being eliminated from the Chase.

“We’re not in the Chase and we’re not where want to be, fighting for the championship,” Johnson said.  “We’ll always keep fighting and trying to make our cars better.”

Johnson’s victory, however, will not be the most talked about part of the race.  During the first green-white-checkered finish, Brad Keselowski and Jeff Gordon made contact fighting for the lead.  The contact cut down Gordon’s left-rear tire, and relegated him to a 29th-place finish.

Photo courtesy ESPN.

After the race, Gordon confronted Keselowski on pit road.  After Kevin Harvick came over and shoved Keselowski, a fight between Gordon and Keselowski’s teams broke out.  Both drivers were left with bloody and bruised faces.

Johnson said the high emotions in the garage are a part of the new Chase format.

“We’re all in the position to win the championship and this is what happens.  I’m sure it was highly entertaining today.”

Unofficial results:

1. Jimmie Johnson
2. Kevin Harvick
3. Brad Keselowski
4. Kyle Busch
5. Jamie McMurray
6. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
7. Kyle Larson
8. Kurt Busch
9. Carl Edwards
10. Denny Hamlin
11. Tony Stewart
12. Joey Logano
13. Greg Biffle
14. AJ Allmendinger
15. Ryan Newman
16. Brian Vickers
17. Paul Menard
18. Casey Mears
19. Martin Truex Jr.
20. Justin Allgaier
21. Austin Dillon
22. Michael Annett
23. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
24. Aric Almirola
25. Matt Kenseth
26. Cole Whitt
27. Marcos Ambrose
28. Clint Bowyer
29. Jeff Gordon
30. Michael McDowell
31. J.J. Yeley
32. David Ragan
33. Reed Sorenson
34. David Gilliland
35. Timmy Hill
36. Danica Patrick
37. Joey Gase
38. Kasey Kahne
39. Trevor Bayne
40. Brett Moffitt
41. Josh Wise
42. Alex Bowman
43. Landon Cassill

Photo courtesy Chris Graythen/Getty Images

No comments:

Post a Comment