Sunday, November 9, 2014

Harvick Wins at Phoenix, Championship Round Set

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Kevin Harvick won the Quicken Loans 500 on Sunday from Phoenix International Raceway to clinch his spot in the Championship Round at Homestead.

Photo courtesy Tom Pennington/Getty Images
Harvick needed a win to compete for the Championship next weekend.  Harvick said this may have been one of the biggest wins of his career.

“I guess that’s what it feels like to hit a walkoff in extra innings,” Harvick said.  “Both races here have just been bad to the bone.  Everyone on our Budweiser team has been great.”

Harvick dominated the race, leading 264 of 312 laps.  The class of the field, he ran away from Jeff Gordon on the final restart.  Gordon needed to win the race to move on to the Championship Round.  Instead, he finished one point behind Ryan Newman following his last-lap comeback.

Newman stayed out during a late caution, but he quickly fell into the danger zone.  On the final lap, Newman and Kyle Larson made contact going into Turn 3.  Newman was able to pick up the spot and the point he needed to get past Gordon.

Next week, the Sprint Cup Championship will be decided between Harvick, Newman, Joey Logano and Denny Hamlin.  The rules are simple: whoever finishes first of those four drivers becomes the Sprint Cup Champion.

Unofficial results:

1. Kevin Harvick
2. Jeff Gordon
3. Matt Kenseth
4. Brad Keselowski
5. Denny Hamlin
6. Joey Logano
7. Kurt Busch
8. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
9. Greg Biffle
10. Marcos Ambrose
11. Ryan Newman
12. Martin Truex Jr.
13. Kyle Larson
14. Jamie McMurray
15. Carl Edwards
16. AJ Allmendinger
17. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
18. Aric Almirola
19. Brian Vickers
20. Tony Stewart
21. Kasey Kahne
22. Danica Patrick
23. Paul Menard
24. David Gilliland
25. David Ragan
26. Michael Annett
27. Ty Dillon
28. Reed Sorenson
29. Landon Cassill
30. J.J. Yeley
31. Michael McDowell
32. Alex Bowman
33. Joey Gase
34. Kyle Busch
35. Casey Mears
36. Mike Wallace
37. Justin Allgaier
38. Austin Dillon
39. Jimmie Johnson
40. Clint Bowyer
41. Josh Wise
42. Cole Whitt
43. Mike Bliss

Photo courtesy Sean Gardner/Getty Images

No comments:

Post a Comment