Sunday, April 30, 2017

Logano Wins at Richmond in 300th Career Start

Originally written for CLNS Media.

Joey Logano won the Toyota Owners 400 from Richmond International Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Logano took the lead on the final restart, and he pulled away from Kyle Larson over the final 20 laps.  Logano said he was able to use his car’s short-run speed to get to victory lane.
Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

“We had a good enough restart to get enough cushion, but [Brad Keselowski] was catching me a couple tenths a lap there,” Logano said.  “We won with a car that may not have been the winning car.”

Logano was able to win in his 300th career start, and he said he was proud of his team for their hard work in getting him to victory for the first time in 2017.

“It’s nice to finally break through to get a win,” Logano said.  “I was driving my guts out.  Coming from the back…to bring this Shell-Pennzoil Ford into victory lane, man that feels really good.”

Logano’s teammate Keselowski had one of the fastest cars of the race, but a late-race restart trapped him behind a slower car.

“That last restart, there were about five or six cars that stayed out,” Keselowski said.  “We got behind one that was really slow and didn’t really go, and we lost two or three spots before we could get going.”

Keselowski said if the final run had been a bit longer he would have been able to catch Logano for the win.

“We had a ton of long-run speed,” Keselowski said.  “We weren’t good enough to pass cars on the short run, we just had to hold serve and go on the long run.  Just kept getting all those yellows at the end and couldn’t make anything of it.”

“What we needed was ten more laps; wish this was the Richmond 410.”

Unofficial results:
1. Joey Logano
2. Brad Keselowski
3. Denny Hamlin
4. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
5. Kevin Harvick
6. Jamie McMurray
7. Ryan Newman
8. Kurt Busch
9. Aric Almirola
10. Martin Truex Jr.
11. Jimmie Johnson
12. Daniel Suarez
13. Trevor Bayne
14. Kyle Larson
15. Clint Bowyer
16. Kyle Busch
17. Chris Buescher
18. Danica Patrick
19. David Ragan
20. Austin Dillon
21. Landon Cassill
22. Kasey Kahne
23. Matt Kenseth
24. Chase Elliott
25. Paul Menard
26. Ty Dillon
27. Cole Whitt
28. Matt DiBenedetto
29. Michael McDowell
30. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
31. Gray Gaulding
32. Corey LaJoie
33. Reed Sorenson
34. Timmy Hill
35. Jeffrey Earnhardt
36. Ryan Blaney
37. AJ Allmendinger
38. Erik Jones

Matt Sullivan/Getty Images

No comments:

Post a Comment