Monday, November 7, 2016

Edwards Wins Wet AAA Texas 500

Originally written for CLNS Radio

Carl Edwards won the AAA Texas 500 from Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday night after rain ended the race with 40 laps to go.

Edwards raced Martin Truex Jr. over the final 100 laps for the lead, but it wasn’t until the final pit stop that Edwards was able to get out front.  Edwards’ team got him the lead, and he ran away from Truex and Joey Logano until the rain came.
Sarah Crabill (Getty Images)
Edwards said his team’s fast pit stop got him the victory.

“[Crew chief] Dave Rogers and the guys, they got me off pit road first and that’s what won it for us,” Edwards said.  “I’ve got an amazing group of guys; they work so well together.  My pit crew has worked really hard this year.”

Rain delayed the start of the race by almost five hours, changing it from a day race to a night race that promised to have major Chase implications.  Edwards came into the race needing a victory after finishing 36th at Martinsville one week ago.

“This was a test; we came in and knew what we had to do, and we performed the way we needed to,” Edwards said.  “I really believe we can do that at Homestead.”

“We’ve got a shot at the championship, and that’s all we wanted this year.nnI can’t wait to go to Homestead; it’s going to be a blast.”

Logano finished second after leading 178 of 293 laps.  Logano said the handle on his car went away in the middle of the race, but his team continued to work hard to give him a shot at the victory over the final run.

“We had a good restart there at the end, and started running down the 19 [of Edwards] that last two or three laps, and I thought we could get…back out front,” Logano said.  “It’d have been interesting to see if we’d gotten another 10 to 15 laps...but it is what it is.”

Unofficial results:
1. Carl Edwards
2. Joey Logano
3. Martin Truex Jr.
4. Chase Elliott
5. Kyle Busch
6. Kevin Harvick
7. Matt Kenseth
8. Kasey Kahne
9. Denny Hamlin
10. Ryan Newman
11. Jimmie Johnson
12. Ryan Blaney
13. Alex Bowman
14. Brad Keselowski
15. Kyle Larson
16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
17. AJ Allmendinger
18. Greg Biffle
19. Jamie McMurray
20. Kurt Busch
21. Chris Buescher
22. Aric Almirola
23. Michael McDowell
24. Danica Patrick
25. Clint Bowyer
26. Regan Smith
27. Brian Scott
28. Paul Menard
29. Landon Cassill
30. Trevor Bayne
31. Tony Stewart
32. Michael Annett
33. David Ragan
34. Jeffrey Earnhardt
35. Reed Sorenson
36. Joey Gase
37. Austin Dillon
38. Ryan Ellis
39. Casey Mears
40. Josh Wise

Jerry Markland (Getty Images)

No comments:

Post a Comment