Sunday, October 16, 2016

Kevin Harvick Makes a Statement with Win in Kansas

Originally written for CLNS Radio.
 Kevin Harvick won the Hollywood Casinos 400 from Kansas Speedway on Sunday to lock himself into the next round of the Chase.

Harvick came into the race needing a good run following a poor finish at Charlotte.  Harvick said his team didn’t prepare for this race any differently than they normally would.

Chris Trotman (Getty Images)
“The best thing is that we prepare the same for every race,” Harvick said.  “These races are hard to win and these guys are just so good at the details.  You put their backs against the wall and they get better.”

Harvick’s win continued an impressive streak: he is the only driver who has never been eliminated from the Chase for the Sprint Cup.  Harvick said it’s a testament to the team that has been built over the past few years.

“It’s hard to keep yourself motivated and perform at a high level, and to be able to do this for three years now…I think that says a lot about the character of this team and the things that they do.”

Harvick had to hold off Carl Edwards on a late restart, but once he cleared the No. 19, he pulled away to get to victory lane.

“I just got two good restarts against the 19…I knew I just needed to go for it, and that’s really the mindset that I had.”

Edwards said his car was better than Harvick’s, but that they just ran out of time at the end of the race.

“I felt like we had the race under control if it had kept going green,” Edwards said.  “We really had something fast there.”

“I got racing with Kyle [Busch], and that really let Kevin get out ahead.”

Next weekend, the Sprint Cup Series heads to Talladega Superspeedway with Chase elimination on the line.  Heading into Talladega, Joey Logano and Austin Dillon are tied for the final spot in the next round, with Denny Hamlin and Brad Keselowski within seven points of the final spot. Chase Elliott sits 25 points out of 12th following bad luck in both Round 2 races, and will most likely need a win at Talladega to move on.

Unofficial results:
1. Kevin Harvick
2. Carl Edwards
3. Joey Logano
4. Jimmie Johnson
5. Kyle Busch
6. Austin Dillon
7. Alex Bowman
8. AJ Allmendinger
9. Matt Kenseth
10. Kasey Kahne
11. Martin Truex Jr.
12. Ryan Newman
13. Kurt Busch
14. Ryan Blaney
15. Denny Hamlin
16. Tony Stewart
17. Trevor Bayne
18. Danica Patrick
19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
20. Paul Menard
21. Chris Buescher
22. Michael McDowell
23. Casey Mears
24. Matt DiBenedetto
25. Greg Biffle
26. Clint Bowyer
27. Landon Cassill
28. Brian Scott
29. Regan Smith
30. Kyle Larson
31. Chase Elliott
32. Michael Annett
33. Cole Whitt
34. Reed Sorenson
35. Joey Gase
36. David Ragan
37. Jamie McMurray
38. Brad Keselowski
39. Josh Wise
40. Aric Almirola

Brian Lawdermilk (Getty Images)

No comments:

Post a Comment