Sunday, November 8, 2015

Jimmie Johnson Wins at Texas

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Jimmie Johnson won the AAA Texas 500 from Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday.

Johnson raced hard with Brad Keselowski over the final 20 laps, and finally took the lead with six laps to go.  Johnson said the handling of his car came in at the right time.

Photo courtesy Matt Sullivan/Getty Images
“I could see [Keselowski] was tight and his car wasn’t ideal and then he moved up and had the high lane covered,” Johnson said.  “I just kept working on him and working on him…and he got real loose off of [Turn] 2 and I had a big run off the top.”

Keselowski led 312 laps on Sunday, the most of any driver.  Keselowski’s runner-up finish leaves him 22 points behind the final cutoff spot for the championship finale at Homestead heading into Phoenix next weekend.  Keselowski said his team will have to win next weekend at Phoenix.

“Still a lot to be proud of,” Keselowski said.  “My team did a hell of a job…we’ll have a great shot of winning next week as well.”

Tire troubles almost ruined Kevin Harvick’s day as he looked to make the championship round.  Harvick had numerous tires go down throughout the race, but he was able to bounce back to finish third and put himself in good position to make the finale at Homestead.

Joey Logano, another Chase driver, came into Texas needing a victory to make the championship finale.  Logano cut down a tire early on in the race, and that ruined his team’s chances to pick up the victory.  Unlike Harvick, Logano was unable to bounce back from the early adversity and finished 40th, putting himself in a large hole heading into Phoenix where he must win to advance.

Unofficial results:
1. Jimmie Johnson
2. Brad Keselowski
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Kyle Busch
5. Carl Edwards
6. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
7. Kurt Busch
8. Martin Truex Jr.
9. Jeff Gordon
10. Jamie McMurray
11. Austin Dillon
12. Erik Jones
13. Paul Menard
14. Brian Scott
15. Clint Bowyer
16. Danica Patrick
17. AJ Allmendinger
18. Aric Almirola
19. Greg Biffle
20. Kasey Kahne
21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
22. Ryan Newman
23. David Ragan
24. Sam Hornish Jr.
25. Landon Cassill
26. Casey Mears
27. Cole Whitt
28. Justin Allgaier
29. David Gilliland
30. Brett Moffitt
31. Michael Annett
32. Jeb Burton
33. J.J. Yeley
34. Michael McDowell
35. Matt DiBenedetto
36. Ryan Preece
37. Kyle Larson
38. Denny Hamlin
39. Trevor Bayne
40. Joey Logano
41. Alex Bowman
42. Tony Stewart
43. Ryan Blaney

Photo courtesy Tim Bradbury/Getty Images

No comments:

Post a Comment