Sunday, April 26, 2015

Busch Dominates in Richmond

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Kurt Busch picked up his first victory of the season in Sunday’s Toyota Owners 400 from Richmond International Raceway.  
Photo courtesy Daniel Shirey/Getty Images

Busch dominated the race, leading 291 of 400 laps.  Busch said this win was what his team was working towards all season.

“It’s a total team effort, and the way that everything came together, it just seemed like we were building…towards a great finish like this,” Busch said.  

Busch clinched a spot in NASCAR’s Chase for the Sprint Cup with his victory.  Busch missed the first three races of the season while serving a suspension for a domestic violence incident.  He said it was an incredible feeling to be in victory lane after a rough start to the season.

“I have this opportunity because of [co-owner] Gene Haas,” Busch said.  “Everyone that’s a part of our family at Stewart-Haas, it’s an unbelievable feeling when you pull deep from within and to go through troubles.”

“Your personal life doesn’t need to affect your business life, and I’m here in victory lane and it feels great to do it in Richmond.”

Busch’s teammate Kevin Harvick finished second, and said he might have been able to win the race if it wasn’t for a bad set of tires.

“What we really needed was all the tires to be the same,” Harvick said.  “We put that one set of tires on and…it just got us way behind.”

“Just really happy for everyone at Stewart-Haas and Kurt and everybody on the 41.”

Unofficial results:
1. Kurt Busch
2. Kevin Harvick
3. Jimmie Johnson
4. Jamie McMurray
5. Joey Logano
6. Kasey Kahne
7. Matt Kenseth
8. Jeff Gordon
9. Clint Bowyer
10. Martin Truex Jr.
11. Ryan Newman
12. Kyle Larson
13. AJ Allmendinger
14. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
15. Paul Menard
16. Chase Elliott
17. Brad Keselowski
18. Justin Allgaier
19. Carl Edwards
20. Aric Almirola
21. Greg Biffle
22. Denny Hamlin
23. David Ragan
24. Trevor Bayne
25. Danica Patrick
26. Landon Cassill
27. Austin Dillon
28. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
29. Brett Moffitt
30. Casey Mears
31. David Gilliland
32. Alex Bowman
33. Michael Annett
34. Reed Sorenson
35. Sam Hornish Jr.
36. Cole Whitt
37. Matt DiBenedetto
38. Jeb Burton
39. Alex Kennedy
40. Jeff Green
41. Tony Stewart
42. Josh Wise
43. Joey Gase

Photo courtesy Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

No comments:

Post a Comment