Monday, November 18, 2013

Jimmie Johnson Wins 6th Sprint Cup Championship

Originally written for CLNS Radio.

Jimmie Johnson clinched his sixth Sprint Cup Series championship with a ninth place finish on Sunday.

Jimmie Johnson hoists the Sprint Cup Championship.  He is now only one title away from tying Dale Earnhardt and Richard Petty. (Photo courtesy NASCAR via Getty Images)
Johnson came into the day with a 28-point lead over Matt Kenseth, and a 34-point lead over Kevin Harvick.  He was able to hang on to the points lead after Kenseth finished second and Harvick finished 10th.  

Johnson beat Kenseth by 19 points.

Johnson said he doesn't discount what he and his team have been able to accomplish.

"I am lost for words," Johnson told ESPN.  "I'm so honored to drive for this race team and I'm so honored to have a six-pack."

Johnson said he credits his team with helping him be as consistent as he has been.

"I think it's the relationship we have and the bond we have as a team.  I don't know how it happens, but I'm excited it does and I'm happy it does."

Johnson's team owner Rick Hendrick said he was proud of his team for all their hard work.

"We're like a big family and these guys work hard and all the teams work together," Hendrick said in victory lane.  "I never thought I'd win one of these things, let alone 11."

"Matt Kenseth and the Gibbs crowd are great guys, but these guys worked their butts off and hopefully we can get a few more."

Johnson's first five championships came during a record-breaking stretch when he won five in a row between 2006-2010.  During that time, he became the first person to win five consecutive championships, breaking Cale Yarborough's record of three-straight.

Johnson now stands on the doorstep of even more history.  He is now only one championship away from tying the all-time record, held by Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt.

No comments:

Post a Comment